When We Find Ourselves Stuck in Life …

For the month of September, I’m participating in two blogging events:  #LiveLikeJulia and VeganMOFO.  Nothing like diving in head first, right?

For LiveLikeJulia, I read an advance copy of chapter four, “Obey Your Whims,” of Karen Karbo’s forthcoming book Julia Child Rules:  Lessons on Savoring Life.

The idea is that I live like Julia, obeying my whims, for a week or so and blog about it during September.

For now, I’m interpreting “whim” as “following your heart,” which, if you think about it, is no small feat.  I mean, what if your heart pounds out a beat that starts driving you in a completely different direction than the one you’ve been going?

Karen suggests embracing the “power of the whim” because it’s a way to shake things up and will nudge “life into tossing something unexpected in your path.”  You’re supposed to allow this unexpected thing to lead you “in a direction where something good, or at least different, is bound to enrich your life.”

It all sounded fun and breezy until one of Karen’s paragraphs described my life (back to that heart beating in a different direction while I’m still headed in the direction we’d been going along just fine):

The best time to heed a whim is when we find ourselves
stuck in life, when putting one foot in front of the other is
only taking us further away from where we want to go, even
though we don’t know where that is.

I’ve been stuck.  I’ve been trying to put one foot in front of the other until my stamina finally wore out and I gave in.  I’m really not sure what’s at the heart of this change.  All I’ve been able to admit, quite fretfully, is:  “Well, I can’t keep living life in this way.  So, what am I going to do?”  That last question has rather haunted me until I read Karen’s paragraph.

It’s possible to know that I was heading in a direction I no longer wanted to go, even though I have no idea what new direction I want to pursue?  I didn’t think that was possible.  I assumed you only got tired of something once some other inspiration or project came along that you desired more, then you worked your way toward that.**

[**After drafting this post, I read an article in Fast Company where Sir Ken Robinson describes our careers as ships at sea constantly correcting course.  We only look like we know what we’re doing after-the-fact when it’s typed up on a resume. I find this comforting.  Maybe following a whim is really correcting my course?]

To begin following whims, Karen suggests I start in the kitchen:

It’s a little thing … but it keeps your impulse-following
muscle in good shape for the day when something more
momentous comes your way.

If something more momentous is going to come my way, cooking like an Iron Chef ought to have me primed to embrace this new path, right?

Well, we’ll see.  For now, following whims that involve spatulas and wooden spoons, pots and pans, and our little green kitchen with the tinny clock radio tuned to NPR sounds pretty nice.  Here goes!

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When We Find Ourselves Stuck in Life …

  1. Karen says:

    I love this – “…following whims that involve spatulas and wooden spoons, pots and pans, and our little green kitchen with the tinny clock radio tuned to NPR sounds pretty nice.” Indeed it does, Trista! Happy to follow your journey. xKaren

  2. joyweesemoll says:

    Sounds great! I look forward to hearing how your kitchen whims play out and what that might lead to.

  3. dropscone says:

    That sounds like a scary but potentially excellent challenge. Good luck.

  4. Deb says:

    What a great idea! Following your whims. I may need to look for the book when it is available. In the mean time I’m looking forward to reading about your experience.

  5. Kate Allan says:

    I understand completely. It is so incredibly hard to make that decision to jump off the world as you know it and into the unknown on a flight of fancy, following a whim! Hope you land somewhere amazing!

  6. Pingback: A Vegan Cheesemaker, Julia Child, & Calvin and Hobbes | All But The Kitchen Sink

  7. Pingback: A Few More Julia-Inspired Whims Rewarded | All But The Kitchen Sink

  8. Pingback: Can Beauty Save The World? I Hope So, But I Have My Doubts. | All But The Kitchen Sink

Leave a Reply

