The Well-Being of Bell Peppers

I made Long-Life Noodles for dinner last night.  The lanky noodles represent a long life, according to the 2007 Eating Well magazine where I got the recipe.  Gunpowder green tea, which looks like beach pebbles, heats with garlic and ginger.  All of those aromatic antioxidants and anti-inflammatory nutrients add to the likelihood of a healthy, happy old age.

The recipe also includes bell peppers  This summer has been ideal for growing peppers, and my one little plant has produced six large ones.

I didn’t know, however, that not all green bell peppers naturally ripen to red-then-orange-then-yellow.  Mine apparently stops at red, and I picked the two I used last night just in time; their shiny skin was about to give way to squish.

September 2013 bell peppers

I never used to like bell peppers, found them bitter with a clinging texture.  About ten years ago, however, I rescued a wilting pepper plant from the compost pile at the food bank gardens where I volunteered.  I gave it a home in the planter outside our apartment door where it eventually started to grow two peppers.

One night, I stepped out to check on them.  Call it mother’s instinct — two slugs, one on each pepper, steadily chomped through the thick round shoulder of the baby vegetables, the shapely part that cascades away from the stem.

Without hesitating to gross out, I flicked each slug into the moist blackness of the courtyard, clipped the two bell peppers, washed them furiously, set them on the kitchen counter, and huffed off to bed.

In the morning, after cutting away the slug munch, I had enough diced green bell pepper to sprinkle two tablespoons over our breakfast scramble.

The perky green cheered me and gave me a feeling of possibility, and I’ve loved bell peppers–fresh, in-season bell peppers–ever since.  These diced gems felt crisp and juicy and had just enough edge of bitter (like a good cup of coffee) to balance the sweet.

I felt proud of last night’s bell peppers as well, grateful to the plant for pushing its way through the tomato’s tentacles sloppily flopping everywhere but the cage I gave it to climb.

Growing food and living a plant-based life gives me not only feelings of pride, gratitude, and satisfaction, but something else, something harder to identify.  Comfort, I guess.

It’s reassuring.  Like maybe when it comes to bigger things, not just an ingredient for dinner but Big Life Things, what we need will appear just when we need it, not from some distant place difficult to reach but from right under our noses.

Maybe it’s also about following our noses, saying “yes” to what’s right in front of us and then making the best of it.  It’s how Julia Child met Paul, one of the greatest romances and friendships of all time.  According to Karen Karbo’s book, Julia had not really been outside of the US and “was desperate to go somewhere, anywhere.”  She said “yes” to the first opportunity to come her way:  India.  Ultimately, this is how she met Paul, how she ended up in France, and how she found her life’s passion at nearly 40 years old.

I have a quieter disposition than Julia, to put it mildly, but I admire her zeal and intend to put as much gusto into my projects as she put into hers.  I don’t plan to travel far from my backyard, but I’m eager to see where this path takes me nevertheless.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Well-Being of Bell Peppers

  1. dropscone says:

    I didn’t know that some peppers go from red through to yellow!

  2. Karen says:

    Trista, love this. “I have a quieter disposition than Julia, to put it mildly, but I admire her zeal and intend to put as much gusto into my projects as she put into hers. I don’t plan to travel far from my backyard, but I’m eager to see where this path takes me nevertheless.”

    I think you’re on your way. xKaren

  3. Same as the first comment – I thought that green, red and yellow peppers grew from different seeds!! :O

  4. This was such a lovely post!

  5. tristac says:

    Thanks everyone for reading! I think you are right about green, red, orange, and yellow bell peppers coming from different plants and seeds. I’m not sure why I thought the longer they hang on the stem, the more they’d change color. So I guess my pepper plant is a sweet red one? The green one I picked earlier tasted good too, so maybe it’s edible green or red.

  6. I have peppers of all three colors on different plants in my garden – AND one plant with all three colors. So – who knows!!

  7. joyweesemoll says:

    My husband, who doesn’t like green peppers says they aren’t ripe! So, I usually leave mine on the plant until they turn whatever color they are going to turn. I suck at bell peppers for some reason, though. I do better with the Italian style sweet peppers.

    Growing food makes a huge difference in my relationship to food and nature. And, yeah, it’s hard to put into words exactly what that is. I’m always encouraging people in the spring to at least grow a basil plant just to get a taste of what growing something edible is like.

  8. Deb Stone says:

    “Saying “yes” to what’s right in front of us” is such a lesson, and a gift.

  9. Kate Allan says:

    Eating what you grow yourself truly is a satisfying thing isn’t it? Personally I can’t eat green capsicum, so I always wait for mine to go red! Good to see you back too 🙂

  10. Pingback: Live Like Julia (3): Savor Life Lessons and Write About Them

Leave a Reply

