What We Do Daily Matters — A Lot

Primed by November’s effort, I continue to pluck along with daily effort. I’ve been encouraged by Elizabeth Hyde Stevens’s book Make Art Make Money: Lessons from Jim Henson on Fueling Your Creative Career which shows how Henson’s brilliant creativity started with intense daily effort. Just days after telling my husband about this, he brought his phone to the dinner table and said, “You’ve got to listen to this,” and there’s Macklemore singing about 10,000 hours.

In studying Henson’s life for tips about how to be an artist, Stevens suggests we look at our past and consider that we may have already completed some of our 10,000 hours. I used to ask my students after having them read “What It Takes to Be Great” what they already practice daily, maybe without realizing it. For example, you know if you practice the piano daily, it’s deliberate and intentional. But, what about habits? Habits of thought? Actions? Food choices? Etc.

So, I was encouraged by Stevens to think that maybe I’ve already completed a good portion of the 10,000 hours needed to become “great.” Of course, I also have “Debunking the Myth of the 10,000-Hours Rule: What It Actually Takes to Reach Genius-Level Excellence” queued up to read in case I feel I’m nowhere near the 10,000 mark.

All this is to say, when it comes to art, to creativity, to living our lives: what we do daily matters.

It matters as much as The Big Stuff. In fact, I think it matters more. Daily actions and attitudes shape us over the long haul, maybe determine how well we handle The Big Stuff.

Which leads me to an insight I wanted to share with you, something I’ve thought about for a long time, but a second part came to me recently, and it all ties to daily effort and how we craft our lives.

One day, about ten years ago, I finally got utterly sick of worrying about how I looked. I’d had decades of daily, even minute-by-minute, practice fretting about my shape, size, weight, and appearance. I thought–what if I could have all of that wasted time AND energy back? I might be both an accomplished artist and an astrophysicist by now.

Then, this week, I sent a friend from high school a picture I have of her when we were fifteen. She’s an accomplished journalist living an exciting life today, and I’m often admiring the dresses she wears to red-carpet events. At fifteen, her sense of style is evident, but not quite red-carpet. As she said, “What a style icon I was even then: a black silk tie with a sweatshirt! A wacky tropical hat! Pink hightop Reeboks!” (And giant sunglasses.)

But it’s what she wrote next that led me to the second part of my insight: “But seriously, the first thing I thought when I saw this picture was that I spent all these years of my life convinced I looked fat and hideous and awkward…and looking at it now I think I look pretty damn cute.”

Just a week prior to this, I visited with a friend from college, and she and I said the same thing about coming across old photos of ourselves, thinking how cute or fit or lovely we looked then, but remembering how dreadful we felt about ourselves most of the time.

So, we can’t get that wasted time back; however, we can let our past guide what we do next.

If all goes well, I still have at least half of my life left to live. What if my new daily, minute-by-minute, practice is of acceptance and appreciation? What if for every second of the past I spent fretting about not looking good enough, I balance with every second of my present and future accepting and appreciating exactly who I am right now?

What might I accomplish in the next decades?

Unencumbered and seeking out my strengths and talents rather than perceived weak spots, who might I become? How might I handle The Big Stuff as it comes along?

It can’t hurt to try, right? We’ll simply have to figure out what we’ll do with all of that restored time and energy.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What We Do Daily Matters — A Lot

  1. heatherseattle says:

    Could not love this more. I too think the same thing every time i look at pictures. Heading to this new practice right now. 🙂

    • tristac says:

      So, just think about a decade into the future looking at pictures of yourself from now — it will be the same, right? “I wasn’t bad at all? Why did I think I wasn’t perfectly adorable?”
      : ) Plus, you ARE perfectly adorable. You know that, right? XOXO.

  2. Rose L. says:

    It is funny how we view ourselves, sometimes through others eyes. When I was young I always felt like a “stick” figure. I did not get up to 120 pounds until I was in my 30’s!!! I did not feel attractive at all and wished I would get some meat on my bony figure. I was teased a lot by the guys, them saying things like I would have to stand in the same place 3 times to cast a shadow, I would have to be careful not to slip down the shower drain, if I stuck out my tongue and turned sideways I would look like a zipper, I looked like a flat board with 2 bee bees shot into it (boobs so small), etc. I would wear baggy things to try to look bigger. I always thought my sister had a great figure and she thought she was fat!!!
    Now I look at some of the photos and realize I did not really look all that bad.
    But I learned to try to not take others judgement of me to heart. I have actually been put down both when thin and when a bit too hefty. It hurt. Then one day I told a friend how someone had called me a cow and it hurt. She said, “Rose, people who make judgements of someone before they get to know them are fools. The packaging is not as important as the contents. The beautiful person you are outshines anything and most will push aside the looks and see you through through loving, caring eyes once they get to know you. Their judgement is their loss. ” (Something to that effect) I was so touched.
    I always try to put kindness and consideration into everything I say and do. I know I do not have the perfect figure or the most lovely face, but I am nice and kind. What else matters.

    • tristac says:

      Wow! What horrible things those guys said to you! It sounds like it gave you a thick skin early on. Although I disagree about what you say about your figure and your face, your last two sentences made me so happy!

      Part of the book I’m reading about Jim Henson is about how he made his art pay the bills, but also kept his values in tact, and a big part of his values was what you describe here–appreciating ourselves and each other for exactly who we are, and never diminishing someone with rude names and judgement.

      “…but I am nice and kind. What else matters.” EXACTLY!!!! Let’s make that into a bumper sticker.

Leave a Reply

