Aa: The Alluring Promise of Tomorrow (and Accepting Today)

https://allbutthekitchensink.files.wordpress.com/2015/04/1d93e-a.jpg?w=200&h=200

During April, I will be blogging about how creative people can practice their craft every day and what rewards will come from the daily effort.

 

Aa: allure, alluring
The Alluring Promise of Tomorrow (and Accepting Today)

I love the idea of tomorrow. Tomorrow, everything will be different. What holds me back and troubles me today won’t exist tomorrow. After a good night’s sleep, I’ll wake up refreshed, focused, and motivated.

Except, sometimes I wake up feeling just as sluggish and unfocused as the day before. I’m just as afraid and full of self-doubt as I was yesterday.

Karen Karbo, a writer I admire, posted a quote on her Facebook page from Doris Lessing that gets at the heart of it:

“Whatever you’re meant to do, do it now. The conditions are always impossible.”

After a day or two of not-feeling-like-it, it might seem logical to look at the calendar for a fresh start: I’ll pull myself together and start working on my creative projects on Monday, or on the first of the month, or after the holidays, or at the start of the new year.

The thing is, a fresh start never comes along, and the expectations of this Perfect New Day keep mounting. The truth is, this alluring promise of tomorrow is actually a compelling form of procrastination, wrapped up in shiny paper and a pretty bow, looking promising, but empty.

Practicing your craft might feel easier tomorrow, but it is just as likely to feel harder, so you may as well start today. Slog through the doubt and malaise and put in a few minutes of effort right now.

Accept the less-than-ideal situation you’re in, accept who you are, where you are, and the facts of your life in this moment and start from here. There’s no better place.

Seriously, go! Your daily effort starts now.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Aa: The Alluring Promise of Tomorrow (and Accepting Today)

  1. That is really good advice! A great start to the A-Z Challenge! 🙂

  2. mj6969 says:

    Great start to the challenge – and absolutely truthful quote by Doris Lessing.
    We tend to hold out for the perfect moment, conditions etc. when we know, even because we know, they will never come. Fear is such a powerful setback – but small steps are all that is needed.

    Great job and I hope you have a creative and productive day. 🙂

  3. I am ALL about the tomorrows. It’s a habit I’ve really got to break. Ugh.

    Good luck with the 2015 A to Z Challenge!
    A to Z Co-Host S. L. Hennessy
    http://pensuasion.blogspot.com

  4. Rose L. says:

    Nothing like perfect timing, and your post came at the perfect time for me. Feeling “Blah” for the past couple of months due to health issues has me putting things off. Then something will happen to deliver a blow (rotted frame behind siding) to my life and make me just want to stay curled up in bed. Projects I want to do have mounted and I will look and say “tomorrow, not today.” I have a friend who said,” What if tomorrow never comes? Live each day as if it would be your last, as if you know tomorrow you die.” WOW!

  5. I used to have a sign in my pub that sad Free Beer Tomorrow. It cost me nothing because tomorrow never comes! When you wake up in the morning it will be today again. Live for today I say!

    • TRISTA says:

      HA!!!! I might make a sign like that for the front of my sketchbook as a reminder that I’d better get at it today. Ha! (How many people showed up the next day expecting free beer???)

  6. TRISTA says:

    Thanks for your comments — It’s so compelling to wait until tomorrow because there IS the possibility it will all work out beautifully, but that’s possible in this moment too. And Rose, that saying about living today as if it were your last has always stressed me out! If today were my last day, I’d sit around with all my best friends and family, eat chocolate and gab!! I need slightly less pressure! I also know the feeling of wanting to stay curled up in bed. Nothing wrong with that now and then, but I’m also finding that the longer I stick with daily practice, the more I find myself wanting to write/draw and forcing it to fit into even my most stressful days.

  7. EcoCatLady says:

    Thanks… I needed that!

  8. tara tyler says:

    two great lessons with different perspectives – hopeful tomorrow and acceptance of what we can’t change. good advice!
    happy a day!

  9. Alex Hurst says:

    I am definitely guilty of the “Oh, I’ll start that on Monday” bit, for many things in my life. A good reminder. Thanks for that. 🙂

    Alex Hurst, A Fantasy Author in Kyoto
    Out of Print, Fiction authors and their shorts

    A-Z Blogging in April Participant

  10. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge 2015 REFLECTIONS | All But The Kitchen Sink

Leave a Reply

