Hh: Help Others and Help Yourself

During April, I will be blogging about how creative people can practice their craft every day and what rewards will come from the daily effort.

Hh: Help
Help Others and Help Yourself

Occasionally, your daily effort can mean leaving your craft untouched and supporting another artisan’s work that day instead. Attend a reading or art gallery opening, a film screening or a concert. You’ll have to define “occasionally.” Maybe it’s twice a month, maybe it’s every other month, depending on how much time you manage to carve out for your daily practice. This should not replace a lot of your daily effort, but give you a rejuvenating break and a chance to encourage someone else.

Your attendance at other artists’ events helps build an audience for their work. If you’re able to bring a friend or two, you’re introducing new people to the artist’s work, helping pack the house, and create a base of support.

At the same time, you’re rubbing elbows with like-minded folks — other artists and art enthusiasts who might become colleagues, friends, or audience members of your own. You’re also observing the whole scene of a person’s private creative effort getting shared with the world, which might inspire your daily effort by broadening your vision of what is possible for you.

If you’re short on cash, your appreciative presence is plenty, but if you can, buy the artist’s book or CD, pay for a ticket, or make a donation. For work you love, you could write a review or blog post or share an image in various social media platforms to help promote someone else’s work.

All of this enhances your practice of craft while giving you a break from the daily grind and lending energy, moral support, and praise to a fellow artist putting in the time and then taking the risk of revealing their work to world. That’s a scary thing to do, but you can make it easier by being the engaged, appreciative audience member, fan-letter-writer (see also W), and fellow artisan.

When it’s your turn to share your work with the world, you’ll have examples of how other creative folks managed to “work the room,” and you will most likely see some familiar faces in the crowd that shows up to appreciate you and your craft.

———–

This was all I’d planned to say in this post for “H,” but I recently experienced something I want to add here, and that is asking for help. 

It’s hard for me to ask for help. I’m a Gen Xer, and I want to do it all by myself. However, while going for a walk one day trying to work out some technical challenges I was having, I realized my project had gone beyond my abilities, and then, a name popped into my mind, a professional artist I’d not seen much in the last twelve years. Without letting doubt set in, I hurried home and messaged him to see if he could help.

There’s more to this story I’ll post later, but here’s the part related to “H”– he’s been helping me in far more ways than I’d originally imagined, teaching me some basics and some design theory, and encouraging me to believe even more in my project. So, it’s totally worth asking for help; the worst thing that can happen is the person says “no.”

Lastly, thanking people for their help can be a joy and a challenge. I’ve not yet figured out how to re-pay or thank my artist friend. I’m working on it. Until then, I’m paying it forward by helping a few other people. They’re not artists, and I’m helping in totally different ways, but it feels good to support others as I’m being supported. It doesn’t go back directly to the friend helping me, but it feels like it’s generating more good will in the world overall, and that’s a really good thing.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hh: Help Others and Help Yourself

  1. Rose L. says:

    I like mingling people who appreciate poetry. The Milwaukie Poetry Series through their library fills that need. Once a month they feature a well-known poet of Oregon and we gather to hear them read and have a chance to purchase books they have written. Paulann Petersen and others often are there to support each other. The other night Kate Gray was there! They also promote open mike events where we amateur poets can read and feel appreciated and encouraged. And they have workshops led by various poets, including Paulann and Lawson Inada and others.
    I am in a little group of about 10 poets who meet the 3rd Monday to discuss poetry and share and encourage each other. It is good to be supportive and feel supported by others.

    • TRISTA says:

      I’ve heard such good things about this series, and I love that the professional .. and “big name” poets who read there create an encouraging and appreciative tone for the open mike readings. I think artists, writers maybe especially, have a reputation as being competitive with each other, but that’s not what I’m hearing from artisans reading and commenting on this blog. A lot of us are eager to support, and as you said, be supported. Thanks for reading, Rose! (Speaking of being supportive, you’re doing just that by reading and commenting here. Thanks!!!)

  2. mj6969 says:

    Another Gen Xer – great – sometimes it’s lonely – or feels that way! At least there’s company out here 😀

    Asking for help – that can be really hard – for many reasons – least of which is fear or rejection – I think ridicule tops the list. But, you know, as you’ve said, if you don’t ask, then you don’t know what the answer is. And, in my experience, if someone is “genuine” in their own efforts, and they have the time, they will be more than happy to offer whatever support they can – sometimes a reference, time, whatever. It tends to be the more “insecure/less accomplished/jealous” types who feel it necessary to be snotty. But that’s besides the point.

    As for “paying back” – well, p(l)aying it forwards, in small ways, keeps the circle and ripple of generosity and support moving – and that in and of itself, is good karma. Support, in whatever ways, when artists are working and seeking their voices and audiences, is a good thing. Generosity costs nothing but time- and let’s be honest, most of us can admit that on any given day, we waste far more time than we’d care to admit. So, be happy, be creative, and share the generosity, as you can – that’s what counts 😀

    https://mercyjames6969mile.wordpress.com/2015/04/09/hungerh/

    • TRISTA says:

      I think I’ve been lucky about asking for help — even if people said “no,” I don’t think I’ve had any really negative experiences. But, I think you’re right about where the more competitive attitude among creatives comes from; it’s easy to feel like there’s a shortage of opportunities for artists, and our colleagues are actually our competition. Also, having been someone others have asked for help, it feels great to be able to support someone else in their professional, creative, or life endeavors. So, lastly, you’re right–generosity costs nothing AND it gives a lot back to both parties.

  3. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge 2015 REFLECTIONS | All But The Kitchen Sink

Leave a Reply

