Vv: Volition, Start With Making A Vow

During April, I will be blogging about how creative people can practice their craft every day and what rewards will come from the daily effort.

 

Vv: Volition
Start With Making A Vow

It’s easy to say I want to do something, but hard to follow through. Do I want to be fit and healthy? Yes! Do I want to set my alarm an hour earlier and jog in the rain? Um, well, not really.

After at least two decades of writing efforts starting and stopping, I felt I’d hit a point of now-or-never. Life was only giving me more excuses not to write, and when push came to shove, I finally felt just how much I wanted and needed to create. Not an easy thing to admit to myself (see F about fear and failure).

I vowed to write daily for one year and started that day. What came from that initial vow, that promise to myself to commit to my desire to write, was volition.

I mentioned earlier about some colleagues of mine who manage to teach, write, jam in a band, and raise a child or two (see M), and I think one characteristic they have that I’ve now acquired through daily practice is volition, a kind of power that comes from making the decision to do it—to paint, perform, or write.

As  you make time and energy for your craft every day, the will to continue strengthens. As more months full of creative effort pass, you’ll find resolve instead of nerves (see N), focus, determination, and quick recovery when life throws you off course.

Daily practice is hard; it’s hard for all the reasons I’ve written about so far, like getting motivated (M), overcoming fear (F), and perfectionism (P), so if you really want to do this, make a vow. Promise yourself a set amount of time (six months? a year?) that you will give your craft some effort daily. Then, let that commitment fuel the drive to continue your work through thick or thin, in good times and bad, because I’m coming to suspect that the longer we stick with daily effort, the deeper the fulfillment, the more pleasing and surprising the results, and the happier we’ll be.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vv: Volition, Start With Making A Vow

  1. Alex Hurst says:

    A-Z has kicked me back into a hyper “I need to be doing something mode”…. so I’m going to ride those waves into May and make writing daily the new “A-Z”. I know I have it in me to write every day. I just need the focus.

    • TRISTA says:

      That’s exciting, Alex! Do you plan on writing all seven days? Or a little flexibility? For a set amount of time, or a word count, or a particular project? I would love to hear how it goes. You seem so productive in writing and life already, but it also sounds like this writing commitment is for you and to give your creative vision some space in the midst of a full life. I’m so excited about this!

      • Alex Hurst says:

        I’m thinking I’ll start easy. 300 words a day, like for A-Z. If I’m inspired I’ll write more, but at least 300, preferably on one project, though I’ll have a few ‘open’ so I can turn to whichever one the mood calls for. I’m pretty excited about it too! Thank you for inspiring me!

  2. Rose L. says:

    Daily dedication IS difficult! I am so disorganized right now that I seem to drift aimlessly from one thing to another and never completely finishing anything. Then I get upset with myself, feel down and take off to escape it all and ignore it!! I did do workshop yesterday with Paulann Petersen and came away with 4 poems starts. Now to finish them. She loved the one I read in the class about my first intro to poetry so I need to start the editing and refinement!

    • TRISTA says:

      That’s a great way to get motivated and then keep yourself working: attend a class, and then come away with a project that’s started. Now you’re not facing a blank page/screen when you make time to write.

  3. Veronica B. says:

    Enjoying your postings… found you through a to z challenge….!

Leave a Reply

