Zz: Zeal, Be Zealous

During April, I will be blogging about how creative people can practice their craft every day and what rewards will come from the daily effort.

 

Zz: Zeal
Be Zealous

While thinking about what to write for “Z,” I saw the license plate, “B-ZESTY.” It made me think about art, and then about lemons, which somehow got me to “zeal,” something deeper and longer-lasting than zest.

Normally, when I think of zeal, I think of zealots, people so on fire about their religion that they talk about nothing but their faith, eagerly working to convert every person they encounter. However, it applies perfectly to art and to daily practice.

To be “zealous” means to be fervent, to have “enthusiastic devotion” to a goal, ideal, or cause and “tireless” diligence in its furtherance.” Daily practice is about tireless devotion to our craft. This devotion generates enough energy and joy and determination, that we stick with it for years and decades, however long it takes to see our vision through to the end, and really, does creative vision ever really end, or forever develop and expand?

Daily effort creates a steady vibration that fuels your tireless diligence, and in the future, you’re going to look back from the vantage point of your 10-story mural, from the center of the gallery containing your retrospective, from the shelves at the bookstore, from the rave reviews from critics, and see that zeal started with small, thoughtful, steady steps and grew into fully formed zealots: craftspeople steeped in their work, brimming with deep contentment, ever working at their craft no matter how accomplished they have become.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zz: Zeal, Be Zealous

  1. timsbrannan says:

    Congratulations on completing the A to Z blogging challenge!
    Don’t forget about the A to Z Reflections post coming up in May.


    Tim Brannan, The Other Side Blog
    2015 A to Z of Vampires
    http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

  2. Rose L. says:

    I find “daily” of anything is difficult for me. I seem to lack focus. I jump from one thing to another as I move through the house or wherever I am. Maybe I am ADHD?

  3. Alex Hurst says:

    Woohoo!!! I’ve felt your “zeal” all month ( 😉 ) and want to thank you so much for kicking my butt in gear! I have a week long holiday coming up, and no to-do, so I’m going to do what I said I would: write everyday! We’ll see how it goes!!

    Congrats on finishing A-Z. I’m looking forward to staying in touch after the challenge. 🙂

    • TRISTA says:

      I would love to hear how your week of writing daily goes, and let’s definitely stay in touch! I’m working on my reflections post now, and it includes you and your blog of course!

Leave a Reply

