A Swift Kick In The Pants

Monday morning, right when I woke up, I checked my email. I never do this. It’s too jarring, especially if there’s stressful news. But, for some reason, I did it Monday morning and immediately had a stomach ache.

As you know, I want to sell my Storybooks You Can Color at Portland’s Crafty Wonderland sale. I applied last year and ended up glad I did not get in because I was not ready. I planned to apply for this year’s winter sale, and assumed applications would be due in October.

Wrong. Here’s what I read right when I woke up:

Apply Now for the
2015 Super Colossal Holiday
Sale!!!

Don’t wait too long!
Applications are due September 8th!”

Crafty Wonderland banner

I was not even out of bed when I texted my husband the news: ” I don’t know if I can do it?!?!?”

My guy calmed me down and rallied my resolve. We charted out dates when my books should be back from the printer (although, I’m already a day late delivering them); and how much time we’ll have to take photos for the website (not much); and how we’ll make them as good as possible (smart phone and … lots of re-dos? I was a good photographer when it involved film and a dark room.).

By Monday afternoon, my stomach ache had gone away, and I’d accomplished more in a few hours than maybe ever in my lifetime before this. I even baked four loaves of zucchini bread because my toddler would NOT take a nap, and it’s not like I can do the delicate work of scanning and layout with him requesting “Up? Up?” to be on my lap every other minute. (Although that’s exactly what I did today because there was simply no other way.)

This all felt a lot safer in my daydreams, but the sudden due date provided the kick in the pants I didn’t even know I needed.

So, hang onto your hats everyone. If all goes well, I will be telling you soon about a launch party, a website, the results of the Crafty Wonderland application, and the date of my Etsy shop opening.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Swift Kick In The Pants

  1. Solveig says:

    I wish you best of luck! Don’t let that due date paralyse you.

  2. Amy Daileda says:

    Good Luck Trista! I can’t wait to see the Etsy shop! Let me know if I can help.

  3. Rose L. says:

    Good luck and don’t become discouraged! You know, you can join us all at Chrysalis every Weds from noon to 2 pm. Great support and helpful feedback!

  4. Cristina says:

    Wishing you a world of luck and good fortune on your Etsy launch — go get ’em, Trista!

Leave a Reply

