Wah. Wah. All Better Now.

I found out yesterday that I did not get into the Crafty Wonderland show. At first, I was really sad, and I felt ashamed to have to share this news with you. But then, a couple of things happened, and as of yesterday afternoon, I was back to feeling pretty darn great. This is a big change for me.

First, as soon as I read the email, I let myself feel sad for a few minutes. This might seem ridiculous, but it’s a radical change from how I used to deal with rejection. In the past, I’d pretend it didn’t bother me at all. I’d convince myself I didn’t care. But in reality, I’d carry a little piece of disappointment around with me for weeks, maybe months, and that heavy bit of sadness made me doubt myself and avoid sticking my neck out again for a long time.

A few minutes of raw sadness turns out to be a lot easier. I’m not sure why I feared that emotion so much in the past, but after a good ten-minute sulk, I felt fine. (I should add that my guy gave me a lot of love, as did two friends via email/text. That helped, too.)

Second, I stopped myself from falling into an old, unhelpful habit. As soon as I processed the rejection email, I noticed that my thoughts slid right into the conclusion that my work must not be very good.

Rejection = the work sucks. Right? Don’t a lot of us think this, maybe without even realizing it? In the past, this equation seemed perfectly accurate, and I would abandon an idea right there and then.

This time, I stopped myself and made myself separate assessing the quality of my work from the result of applying to this one craft show. Happily, I quickly decided I still love my books and cards and am eager to keep working on them.

Wow. That’s new. I like it.

I’ll admit that it will be a little hard for me to see other coloring books at the show, but I’ll survive. In fact, it will be interesting to see what others are doing.

Hm. I hardly recognize myself!

All of you following this blog and sharing supportive and insightful comments have played no small part in this new, more resilient and positive me. As always: thank you! It’s really great to know you’re out there!

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wah. Wah. All Better Now.

  1. heatherseattle says:

    Girl – you just keep impressing me. 🙂 Glad you see this is just a very minor setback. I happened to overhear some exec’s at work yesterday talking about an account loss and I was so impressed with how they just looked towards the future, talking about how sometimes a door is closed and another (nicer) door opens… habits of successful people.. that is what you have. 🙂 Also, one funny…. when reading this sentence “But in reality, I’d carry a little piece of..” i thought it would end with “chocolate”. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Also, another thought i had… a certain little monkey might have the same process regarding disappointment? Lots to be learned there, too. 🙂 Also, loved the style of this post – it was like we were just chatting on the beach. 🙂 Lots of love and high fives from a state over. 😉

    • TRISTA says:

      Those smiley faces don’t even begin to reflect how happy your comments make me, Heather Seattle! Thank you!!!!!! Also, I think carrying a little piece of chocolate around is a good idea … better yet, many large pieces of chocolate to be eaten regularly!

  2. weebluebirdie says:

    Well done on recognising that this is just one craft show out of the many which are out there. Sometimes even the good ones aren’t all they’re cracked up to be – those who go along to these can have very fickle tastes! Having some resilience to get you through is awesome – it’s an essential trait of the successful!

  3. Solveig says:

    You are becoming wiser and more confident it seems.
    Who knows maybe one day you’ll receive invitations to shows and it’s your turn to pick and choose.

Leave a Reply

