365 Days In A Row … Is It Possible? Is It A Good Idea?

laurenrappdinochair

Miniature chair by Lauren Rapp from The Washington Post.

Last week on Instagram (@carrot.condo), I posted a picture of my “flower-a-day” project from a few years ago.IMG_1176Then, my friend sent me this article from The Washington Post about Lauren Rapp who made one miniature chair every day of the year … yes, that’s 365 chairs. And yes, that’s one made out of a dinosaur!

Now, I’m wondering, do I commit to a daily creative task for an entire year?

I’ve not been able to accomplish anything for 365 days straight except for drinking coffee, eating, and sleeping. (Okay, and using the restroom, but we don’t really need to talk about that here.)

Last year, I managed to write almost every day and gained a lot of knowledge about myself as a creative person that I blogged about for the April A-to-Z challenge. But even then, it was more like four-or-five days a week, which is more than 100 days short of 365.

What do you all think? Does it create just one more stress and drain of energy to commit to something like this? Or, does it fuel the creative life?

I’m thinking simple, like another flower-a-day, and posting it on Instagram. I mean, what do I have to lose? I learned all about failure last year (read “F” in the A-to-Z link), so the worst thing that could happen is I report here, in a few days or months, that I missed a day and therefore failed.

Like Lauren Rapp, maybe I will gain expertise, confidence, and/or clarify my creative goals. I have many plans for Carrot Condo creations, but get lethargic about actually starting new projects because they’re a bit daunting. Maybe the flowers are a simple warm-up each day. Maybe I also limit them to no more than 10 minutes.

Ideas? Advice? What do you all think? And … do any of you want to do it with me? You don’t have to post them online, but if you want to, we could create a shared hashtag to find each other.

laurenrappicecreamchair

Miniature chairs by Lauren Rapp made out of ice cream bars (and maybe the one on the left is from Kit-Kats?), from The Washington Post.

I think I’ll sit with this for a few days and see what you all have to say.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 365 Days In A Row … Is It Possible? Is It A Good Idea?

  1. weebluebirdie says:

    I think it can work well, if, like you say, you treat it as a warm up for your creative day. 10 – 15 mins is a good slot of time to to be spontaneous. But…..would you manage to stay arbitrary??? Or would you find yourself buckling under the pressure of constantly trying to outdo yourself?? If this is part of the general creative process you want to achieve, then go for it. Because yeah, the worst that can happen is that you give up by Jan 15th. No one will judge for you that. The blogosphere is full of the Lapsed and Well-intentioned – I’m one of them!!! So there you go, lots of conflicting advice which will be no use whatsoever 🙂

    • TRISTA says:

      So good to hear from you WeeBlueBirdie!!! I think maybe we ought to make t-shirts that say, “The blogosphere is full of the Lapsed and Well-intentioned–I’m one of them!!!” HA!!! So well said.

      You ask some good questions. I’m wondering if I’m already overdoing it by putting so much thought into this, or if I’m being smart to think it through. Today, I realized I was trying to see how all 365 whatevers would turn into something useful at the end … patches of a quilt (as if I quilt!), cards to give away, some wall art. Maybe being arbitrary, spontaneous, and loosening up ought to be my goals if I do this.

      Are you going to join us if we do it?????

      • weebluebirdie says:

        Yikes! Peer pressure blackmail 😀 I could try to keep up – test myself against the rain! Funnily enough I’ve just managed a spontaneous post based on a daft thing that happened earlier!!!

  2. heather says:

    wow… i’m always impressed with what you’re thinking about and working on. My first reaction to 365 challenge is “there’s no way” and a sort of defeated feeling and then after that comes a “wait… IS it that impossible? and omg wouldn’t it be amazing to accomplish that?” … I can do 30 days so why not more? As you say – we manage to eat, sleep, etc. every day so it’s just a matter of resolve and sticktoitiveness…. right? #conflicted 😉 I’m going to sit on this too… i guess like weebluebirdie says – what is the worst that can happen? stopping early is still a pack of days where you were successful… i’m tired now so i don’t want to do it but i’m going to consider this… love the idea of the shared hashtag. 🙂 that is helping to motivate me!

    • TRISTA says:

      Heather!!! I’m laughing so hard as I read this because look at how well I’ve followed through on our shared writing about our food transformations. I’ve really stayed committed to that one, haven’t I? Sheesh. I’m grateful you’re such an accepting friend.

      That said … your daily task could be a fun one. Eat vegetables every day? That’d be easy peasy, right? (Get it? Peas-y.)

  3. My own feeling is that it just adds to stress. I find that if my current creative work really turns me on, I return to it again and again, even in the midst of all life’s demands. The 365 days in a row I’m drawn to is a simple (yet difficult) internal practice — being truly present with whoever I’m speaking with, and remembering kindness, patience. And, because the nature of creative expression expands our material “stuff,” I’m resolving to tend one external practice: letting go, little by little, of stuff that no longer brings energy or meaning to my life.

    • TRISTA says:

      You liked “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up,” didn’t you, Cristina? : ) Hee-hee.
      Your comment comes at the perfect time. I’m truly ambivalent about this 365-day challenge. On one hand, today in particular, life can be really demanding and distracting and exhausting; and when that happens, I feel the drive to do art more than ever, like I must insist on it fitting into the day. But then the day comes to an end, I’m tired, and I totally resist anything but reading a good book. But if I committed to a quick daily sketch, I’d have to draw in spite of being tired, right? Then again, maybe that sucks all the joy out of it? Well, more importantly, I’m trying to live like you describe in your comment — even when life feels like a frenzy, I’m trying to stay present AND positive. It doesn’t change the facts of the day, but it leaves me with more energy and ability to deal with it all than when I let myself get frustrated about it.

  4. Pingback: How Much You Want This, Girlie? #365daysofpractice | All But The Kitchen Sink

Leave a Reply

