A Super Hero Dress and Daily Practice

Daily drawing practice continues, nearly four months in. It’s been difficult, relaxing, surprising, challenging, and instructive. I’m not even half-way through, but it’s already definitely been worth the effort.

During one of the more difficult weeks when I skipped a few days and felt totally unmotivated, I found new inspiration from my friend Amy. Check this out:

Space Zinnia Dress

Amy read my original post about daily drawing and decided to design a new dress every month. The one with the circles on the side was inspired by the first flower to bloom in space, a zinnia. Her enthusiasm and playfulness (read more here) reignited my commitment to daily practice. (I’m also wanting that zig-zag dress — doesn’t it look like something a super hero would wear if her super power was creativity?)

Then, I found an image shared with Carrot Condo’s Instagram account that totally made my day! This is the activity page from my storybook “The Weirdest Things Happen at Our House,” where the reader gets to illustrate their own weird event. This is what Brenna drew:

IMG_2034

First, playing games with M&Ms instead of marbles is pretty brilliant, right? Secondly, look at that drawing! It’s great, isn’t it? I don’t think she’s old enough to have studied perspective, but she’s got the table and chairs just right. I am so happy to see this!

Lastly, two whole hours without a single interruption found their way into my life last weekend unexpectedly. I didn’t let myself consider anything other than going straight to the drawing desk. I finished one Card You Can Color that I can’t wait to show you!!!  (But it will take me a while to get it printed.) And another is in its final stages. A third is just getting drafted. It has to do with the comforts of having a cup of coffee. I needed a reference, so I stacked these two cups from my parents’ cupboard–I’ve loved these enamel cups for as long as I can remember:

IMG_2025

As hard as it feels some weeks, the daily effort has been incredibly good for me, even the days when I spend only 90 seconds sketching. Something is better than nothing, at least with creativity.

About TRISTA

I write and illustrate stationery, cards, customized snail mail (yes, you can receive handwritten and illustrated letters in your mail!!), coloring books, and more. My business name is "Carrot Condo." After teaching English for 15 years (gasp!), I am now a full-time parent and part-time artist slowly, but steadily, building a creative business and life. You can read more at carrotcondo.com or see my products at etsy.com/shop/CarrotCondo. Thanks for your interest and support!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Super Hero Dress and Daily Practice

  1. Amy Daileda says:

    Hi Trista, THANK YOU for including me in your blog post and for connecting to my website! What a nice surprise to open your email and see my dresses. I hope you are enjoying this fabulous weather! Best~ Amy

    http://www.vivid-element.com

    On Wed, Mar 30, 2016 at 9:15 PM, All But The Kitchen Sink wrote:

    > TRISTA posted: “Daily drawing practice continues, nearly four months in. > It’s been difficult, relaxing, surprising, challenging, and instructive. > I’m not even half-way through, but it’s already definitely been worth the > effort. During one of the more difficult weeks whe” >

  2. Rachel says:

    It’s difficult to be disciplined enough to do something everyday. I admire your commitment! It really is inspiring.

    • TRISTA says:

      Thanks, Rachel … although I’ve definitely missed days. Even so, I’m doing more by *trying* to practice daily than if I didn’t try!

  3. Alex Hurst says:

    I really need to pick up the pencil and doodle again. I bought two sketchbooks on the fly, so clearly my brain is craving it… I just have issues with allowing some drawings to be messy. If that makes sense? I feel like it ruins the page or even the whole book if I make some kind of mistake…. which I know is silly, but I still think it. Maybe my daily exercise should be book cover mockups. Don’t know. But that drawing you shared is so adorable! I agree… the perspective is spot on!

Leave a Reply

